If you use portatour® in regions with a poor internet connection, activate the offline mode. This gives you access to your most important data even without an internet connection.
To activate, go to Options and Program Settings. Under Internet connection, select Refresh offline data. Save to apply the changes (see Program Settings).
After each calculation, the schedule will automatically be downloaded to your device, including customer data and appointments – you can see a progress bar at the bottom of the screen. Whenever your device loses its internet connection while working with portatour® you will receive the following notification:
Click Reload once you have re-established your internet connection and want to try an upload. If, however, no internet connection is possible, click Offline-mode. The offline mode shows the schedule you last downloaded.
In addition, you have access to all appointments and customer detail pages that are included in the schedule. As usual, click the desired line in the schedule. In the yellow header you can see the date of the download to your device.
The schedule as well as appointments and customer data are available in read-only mode while offline. Also, the Navigation button continues to work. You must be online to edit data.
However, you can record calls in the offline mode – including the creation of reports. As usual, click the Called now or Missed buttons on the customer detail page or the Took place or Missed buttons on the appointment detail page. The input you make in the offline mode will be stored locally on your device and is visualized by a red bar on the left of the report:
Once your device has re-established its internet connection, you leave the offline mode by clicking the Go online status button in the top right corner. As soon as the connection with the portatour® Server has been established, both the calls and appointments you have recorded and the reports you have created offline will automatically be uploaded to the server. You receive a notification during and after the upload. After that you will see the online schedule. If the connection fails, you will see the No internet connection window.
Some additional technical information:
- The automatic download of data increases the data transfer volume. In order to keep this increase as small as possible, customer and appointment data are stored locally on your device for at least 12 hours, i.e. the data is not downloaded every time. This might be the reason why you perhaps do not see the latest version of data while offline.
- The call and appointment data, which has been stored locally on your device, is retained even if you leave the browser or re-start your device. However, we recommend to upload your offline data input as soon as possible.
- You can create one new report per customer in the offline mode. Use the pencil symbol to edit it anytime before the upload.
- If problems arise during the upload you will see the respective report with the corresponding error message. Correct any wrong entries and save the report again.
- You cannot upload files for call reports in the offline mode. Any files for reports must be added retroactively in the online mode.
- The offline mode is not available in private browsing mode (inkognito mode).
- Only for administrators and supervisors: If you Log in as another user in the user management, no offline data are downloaded to your device, even if the offline mode is activated for the respective user.