User groups can be created and users assigned either together in the edit window of individual user accounts or via mass editing (see below).
Create a new user group
- Open the user list (see Show user list).
- Click on the user to be part of the new group. The user detail page opens.
- Click on one of the pencil icons to open the editing window.
- Click on New Group.
A pop-up window opens. - Enter the group name and click OK.
- Under Member of, select the new user group and click Save.
The created group appears as a tab at the top of the user list. It is now available to add further users.
Add a user to a user group
- Open the user list (see Show user list).
- Click on the down arrow on the far right in the line of the relevant user.
- Select Edit. All existing user groups are shown in the selection list Member of.
- Select the groups you want the user to be a member of. Multi selection is possible - on Windows, hold the Ctrl key while clicking.
- Click Save.
Repeat points 2 through 5 for every user you want to assign to a user group.
Change user group membership via mass editing
You also have the option of editing the user groups for multiple users at the same time via mass editing. This makes it possible to replace all user groups or to add or remove individual user groups.
Proceed as follows:
- In the Workspace Organization, go to Users.
- Use the selection mode or the extended search to select users (similar to Selection mode and mass editing and Extended customer search).
- At the very bottom, click Edit selected or Edit all X.
- Click on Edit user groups.
- Select the edit mode and the user group(s)
- Replace user groups removes the current user group(s) from the affected users and replaces them with the selected user group(s). Create a new group if necessary.
- Add user groups adds the selected user group(s) to the affected users. Create a new group if necessary.
-
Remove user groups deletes the selected user groups from the affected users.
- Click Apply.
Notes:
- Names of user groups may be no longer than 40 characters.
- One user may be a member of a maximum of 97 groups.
- User groups without members will be automatically deleted. Thus, remove all memberships in order to explicitly delete a user group. To find the members, filter the user list for the group to be deleted.
- A user group’s name cannot be changed retrospectively as it is used as a key. Instead, create a new group and assign the users to it.
- Mass editing of user groups is possible by exporting and importing the user list as an Excel or CSV file. This also makes automated synchronization of user groups via API possible.
- Administrators always have access to all users, regardless of user groups.